Nahum 1:7

If you knew my grandpa, then you knew Nahum 1:7. No two ways about it. He had all his congregations learn it, it was on his answering machine and it was written on every card he sent. He would even say it at the end of a phone conversations, after he prayed with you. This wasn’t, however, only a favorite verse for him. I recall high school FCA, when we would go around and say our favorite verses and why, about 98.7 % of people said “Phil 4:13, cuz we can go out and win this thing!” The problem, of course, was that 98% of the other team had the same verse for the same reason. hmmm. Anyway, this was not like that for my grandpa. The truth of Nahum 1:7 permeated his life. It says, “The Lord is good, a stronghold in the day of trouble, and he knoweth them that trust in him” Nahum 1:7.

My granddad knew that the Lord was good. He preached it everywhere he went. He always said he was “better than I deserve,” and he meant that. He was grateful for family, friends, nature, fishing…everything he enjoyed and did he knew was a gift from a good God, and he was thankful. Yet, my granddad experienced physical sickness and pain. He never stopped trusting in God as his stronghold. The fact that he experienced trouble, did not in his mind in any way negate God’s goodness. He knew that God, “works all things together for the good of those who love him and are called according to his purpose.” My grandpa never stopped relying on Jesus Christ as the anchor for his soul through every difficulty he ever faced unto the very end. My grandpa trusted Christ with his whole heart, and God knew him. He didn’t simply know him in the sense of intellectual knowledge…that’s not what the word means…rather, he set his saving love upon him. He cared for him. He was good to him and was his refuge. By grandfather was faithful to the end, because God is faithful. He knoweth them that trust in Him.

I preached at a nursing home in Louisville this past Sunday. I preached Nahum 1:7. I wanted the residence there to have the same hope in Christ as my granddad did his entire life. I’m posting the message below. You’ll notice I recorded the two hymns we sang as well. I don’t think it was an accident that they were “It is Well” and “Jesus and Me.”

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

